HKBU held the Inauguration Ceremony of Endowed Chairs 2017 today (1 November) to recognise three newly appointed Endowed Chairs and their respective donors.


They are: Professor Cheah Kok-wai, Associate Head of the Department of Physics, who received the title of Dr Elizabeth K S Law Endowed Chair of Advanced Materials; Professor Bian Zhaoxiang, Associate Vice-President (Chinese Medicine Development), who received the title of Tsang Shiu Tim Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine Clinical Studies; and Professor John Erni, Head of the Department of Humanities and Creative Writing, who received the title of Fung Hon Chu Endowed Chair of Humanics. 

Mr Cheng Yan-kee, Chairman of the Council and the Court of HKBU and Professor Roland Chin, President and Vice-Chancellor of HKBU officiated at the ceremony. 

In his welcome address, Professor Roland Chin said that the Endowed Chairs Scheme serves as one of the means of attracting the world’s great minds to HKBU to promote world-class, ground-breaking research and broaden students’ horizons. He said it is encouraging to see the generosity of supporters who firmly believe in HKBU’s vision. He thanked all benefactors of the Scheme and looks forward to extending the partnership and support rendered to the University from more individuals and corporations. 

As tokens of appreciation, the University presented to each donor a commemorative Ming Dynasty style chair. An engraved University emblem and a customised plaque bearing the name of the Endowed Chair are visible on the chair's back splat.

An Endowed Chair is among the highest honours to be bestowed upon prominent academics at HKBU in recognition of their accomplishments. The University launched the Endowed Chairs Scheme in 2006, with the aim of strengthening HKBU’s research capacity, extending the frontiers of knowledge and nurturing upcoming talents and leaders for society. The Scheme also provides opportunities for donors to partner with the University in advancing ground-breaking research and academic excellence in their chosen disciplines for the betterment of humankind. 

For more details, please refer to: